Bits of green

29 Oct
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Unripe oranges – Jardins Rubió i Lluch

Brrrrr! It’s cold in Barcelona all of a sudden (colder than I remember having experienced at this time in other years) so there is no doubt Autumn is here to stay! Nevertheless, there are still bits of green to be found around Barcelona, as you’ll see in these images…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Unnatural green – Carrer Ripoll

I was delighted to spot the oranges last week, when I passed through the courtyard at Jardins de Rubió i Lluch on my way to the library, and I love the fake nature on the utility cabinet on Carrer Ripoll. All touches of green in a city are welcome, don’t you think?

These swirly elements of the sgraffito decoration on a building in Grácia, remind me of fresh salad leaves…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Sgraffito salad – Gran de Gràcia

… and the blinds (below) are the colour of peas, while the balcony bannister has been painted a rocket (rucola) green. Very striking! And very veggie!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Pea blinds and rocket bannister – Carrer Nou de la Rambla

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Minty door grille – Gran de Gràcia

Mint and other tones of green grace both old and new buildings around town, as you can see in these two images (above and below). Recognise the vertical louvres from a recent post?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Various shades – Carrer Pere IV

Bits of green aren’t only found on the outside of buildings in Barcelona, you can also find it on the inside, like here, on Carrer Fontanella. Fresh-looking in Summer, it now reminds me of all sorts of Winter greens: kale (which sadly I can’t get here, and which I love), spinach, broccoli, Brussels sprouts (yummm! Do you like them?)…

I don’t like the cold, but it does inspire a lot of nice tummy-warming dishes. Hmmm, I think I’ll make some this week. Would you like me to share them with you? Please let me know if you do. Have a great week, everyone!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Green inside – Carrer Fontanella

2 Responses to “Bits of green”

  1. Jessica October 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    These are really fun to look at! It got so cold so fast this weekend, I couldn’t believe it! Stay warm.

    • Lisette October 29, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks, I am glad you like them Jessica! Didn’t it just? A bit of a shock to the system, wouldn’t you agree? Stay warm also!

Tell me what you think...

