Souvenirs

10 Sep
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Marnix Plein

Hello everyone! I’m back! Well, sort of… I’m still getting into the swing of things, but feeling more grounded now. To kick-start the ‘after-the-holidays season’, I thought I’d share some of my holiday souvenirs with you. (We all bring something home with us from our holidays don’t we?) Ready? Here we go!

I love cycling, and was drawn to the sign (above) indicating a bicycle parking. Simple but very effective, right? The profusion of flowers, painted on the side walks along Vijzelstraat and Weteringschans were another welcome surprise, and I just couldn’t resist bringing some home with me,in the form of a snapshot…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Weteringschans

On the Herengracht I was suddenly reminded of one of my favourite street artists, C215

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Herengracht

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Herengracht

… as well as taken aback by this nostalgic image (above). Not sure what I think of it, but I found it interesting. What do you think?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Haarlemmer Straat

Around the corner, on Haarlemmer Straat, I found these rather dotty pieces, and was surprised to find the one below is a in support of Barcelona people!! What are the chances?!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Haarlemmer Straat

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Haarlemmer Plein

Is it a sculpture? Is it a play thing? My guess is, that it’s both. In any case, I like to see a funky insect like this one (above) which can also be played with, plonked on a square like this. It brings a smile to my face.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Kerkstraat

To wrap up my selection of souvenirs (from Amsterdam, in case you hadn’t guessed), two very lovely ones in (mostly) black & white. Any idea who the trumpet player is? If you do, please drop me a line in the comments or via email. Thanks!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Reguliersbreestraat

Tell me what you think...

