An empty plot

17 Jul
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

What’s this?

Last week, while I was taking photos around the Born, I stumbled on an empty plot on Carrer Canvis Nous. The plot itself is no news, for it has been empty for as long as I have lived in Barcelona. But what was a great surprise, is what I found…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

How fun!

For I found an installation, on the two walls that flank the plot. A gallery of portraits of very smiley people. How fun!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Boxed into a corner

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Boxed portraits

Wonderful, aren’t they? These boxed portraits. I love ’em, and could spend hours studying each and every one of them. I think it’s a great initiative to put an empty plot to such use, and wish it was done more often. I would love to know who the artist behind it is, but can’t find the complete name anywhere among all the images. Does anybody know? If you do, please tell me!

*** ADDENDUM: thanks to Marc who found who this wonderful gallery is by, and found this video on Youtube!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

The missing name

9 Responses to “An empty plot”

  1. nonoymanga July 17, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Excellent street art photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. inniiq July 17, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    It’s really wonderful, I really like the feelling when find somethings like this : )))

    • Lisette July 17, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Isn’t it just? I was delighted when I stumbled on this wonderful ‘gallery’…

  3. inniiq July 17, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Reblogged this on Now I'm trying and commented:
    Nice view from Barcelona

  4. plantopaint July 17, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Absolutely beautiful.

  5. framegrace July 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Hola, soy Marc!!
    Found!!

    • Lisette July 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Wonderful! Thanks very much Marc!! (Marc, as in ex-colleague Marc?)

Tell me what you think...

