Metallic marvels

7 Feb
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Rambla Catalunya

Magpie that I am, I like all things shiny, and today I’m showing you some metallic marvels from around Barcelona, some shiny and others not so, that I think are worth sharing with you. Here goes…

I’d already thought of dedicating a post to metallic things, when I came across the above shop with its gorgeous brass lettering. Can you imagine how delighted I was? Such an appropriate way to kick off a post, right? The detailing on the set of doors (below) is not to be scoffed at either, I think. I love the way the many, many screws have been used to add to the decorative beauty of these pieces!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passeig de Gràcia

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça de Antonio Maura

Another element spotted on a door (above). Very Art Déco, this one, I think. It reminds me of decors in the more lush black and white silent movies of the late 20’s and early 30’s, and makes me want to run to the cinema to see “The Artist”. Have you seen it?  Below, souvenirs from the countryside, coated in gold paint.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Ronda Sant Antoni

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Pintor Fortuny

Cast iron in a grey hue, no shine, but no less decorative, the above beam that supports the walls above the window, just around the corner from the Cute Suite.

.copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

La Rambla

Even more beautiful, are the cast iron palm tree column that serves that very same function at a supermarket on the lower end of La Rambla, and the Modernista one on Carrer dels Àngels.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer dels Àngels

Last but not least, remnants of last Christmas’ street decorations, are these shimmering fish made up of metallic ‘sequins’. Very suitable for the avenue that runs along the old fishing neighborhood of Barceloneta.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passeig de Joan de Borbò

Tell me what you think...

