New!

23 Jan
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Angles and lines

Happy Monday! A new week, new projects on the go and a new building that I recently spotted in the neighborhood (at the lower part of the Raval, on Carrer del Portal de Santa Madrona). I have no idea what its use is going to be, but I like its playful lines and jutting out corners, so I thought I’d share it with you.  Here goes…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Stripes and dots

I love the red dots used on buildings to signal where fire hydrants are, especially when a building is so linear. They create a kind of tension, points of interest, they distract from the rest of the façade, yet they are so small in comparison.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Overhang

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Reflected

More dots, on the windows of an adjacent hotel, and again this ‘tension’ as a result of the reflected building that is today’s protagonist.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Smooth

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Stripey

Stripes appear to be the theme on this new edifice, be they horizontal or vertical. Even the doors (below) are striped!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Locked

If anyone knows what this building is destined to be, please let me know – I’d love to hear from you!

Have a great week, everyone! I’ll be back tomorrow, with more Barcelona loveliness. Hope to see you here!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Bike parking

2 Responses to “New!”

  1. Amàlia Zorzano January 23, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Good morning Lisette, i think the new building could be the new Filmoteca de Catalunya…does it make sense?

    Happy Monday to all!!

    • Lisette January 23, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

      Good morning Amàlia! I believe the new Filmoteca is being built (and almost finished) on Carrer Sant Pau (but I may be mistaken!). Have a great week – it’ll be a busy one, I expect? ;)

Tell me what you think...

