Xmas windows – my favourites

23 Dec
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Bot - Carrer d'en Bot 4

It’s unavoidable at this time of year – shops decorate their windows with baubles and glitter to create a festive atmosphere, and shops in Barcelona are no different. I haven’t seen very many Christmas windows that have blown my mind, or even that I was delighted and surprised by, but there were a few I liked, so I have selected a few of my favourites to show you. Here they are…

Delightfully camp (above) and well suited to its métier, the decoration at hair and beauty salon Bot. If you need a haircut or want to get your hair styled or coloured while in Barcelona, this is a great salon! No kidding, I go there myself!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Camper - Carrer Elisabets 11

I love the simplicity of the decoration in the Camper window. Shoe and boot shaped cookie cutters on a string, and that repeated several times, plus a simple Merry Christmas written on the window pane. Simple. Effective. Cute.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Cookie cutters?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Fastvínic - Carrer Diputaciò 251

Just a decal on a window pane, but it looks good, and (to me at least) brings across a festive spirit. You can find it at Fastvínic, a deli / sandwich place on Carrer Diputaciò.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Les Topettes - Carrer Joaquim Costa 33

Recognise this window? Of course you do! We were there only yesterday, after all. Les Topettes have a delighfully creative window, made of a handful of stacked stools and decorated with some of their pretty soaps. Resourceful!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Stool tree

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Loreak Mendian - Carrer Duc de la Victòria 9

My absolute favourite this year is the window at Loreak Mendian. It makes me think of snow and skiing, and is so cleverly put together, using the simplest of things…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Shadows and light

… yet thanks to their lighting they create something that looks stunning! If you look closely, you’ll see that they’ve used 8 shower curtain poles, 6 rolls of double sided tape, one black belt, a dotted backdrop and light. Hats off to the designer! I love it!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Less is more

Tell me what you think...

