Under lock and key

21 Nov
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passatge Hospital

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? We had lots of rain (again) but I had a good one – hope you did too! To kick off this week (leading up to Thanksgiving if you are from the US) I have some images of locks for you. As a child I was always curious about keyholes and wanted to know what’s behind locked doors, and I realise that even nowadays I continue to cast my eye on locks, and try to open doors (in museums, for example) to find out what’s behind them…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passatge Hospital

The very lovely locks (above) can be found on a pair of doors that lead to a building on Passatge Hospital, which is dedicated to Medical Research. Those below, on a street filled with prostitutes, at the lower end of El Raval. I love how the 3 padlocks all match, as if on purpose. In any case I think these padlocks are quite cool – they have a very sturdy and inviolable look about them, don’t you think?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Arc de Sant Agustì

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Prìncep de Viana

Locks on doors to residential buildings can vary quite a bit. Most are modern, but in most cases, you can still see the old keyholes on the doors, although more often than not, these are no longer in use.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer del Carme

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer del Carme

I really like how all these doors are well coated in paint (some even super glossy!) yet you can still tell their age (so to speak) by the amount of scratches and dents in the wood. It adds so much character. On the door (above) you can even see the old screw holes where previously the plaque that covers the lock would have been…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Portaferrissa

Silly me, I can’t remember where I found the lock below! It’s rather stunning though, so I decided to show you anyway. It’s made of cast iron, and it’s on an iron door, so it must be a grand building, here in the Old Town somewhere. If I come across it again (which I probably will) I’ll let you know where it can be found. The door is probably quite old, but the lock is modern. Cute how it has been inset into the centre of the cross of Saint George (within the diamond). The crown and the double headed eagle hint that this may be a building that belongs to a local government department… I’ll find out!

Have a great week! I’ll be back every day with more loveliness from around Barcelona.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

?

2 Responses to “Under lock and key”

  1. simone leblanc November 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    So lovely, there is something so mysterious and poetic about old locks…..

Tell me what you think...

