Barcelona + Butoh

8 Nov
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Butoh 'al fresco'

Last Saturday I witnessed a Butoh performance for the first time in my life.  Heavens, was I impressed!

There is no way I can transmit how incredible it was, here, on the Cute Suite blog, but I can share a couple of images with you, just to offer you an impression  – albeit a very limited, two-dimensional one. One thing you should be aware of: there is some nudity in the images later on – I hope you don’t mind.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Minako Seki

As part of this month’s Barcelona en Butoh festival, I went to see Minako Seki at the Caixa Fòrum on Saturday morning. The performance took place ‘al fresco’ on the patio in front of the entrance to this great museum (but more about Caixa Fòrum tomorrow) and luckily, for the duration, the rain clouds (which have accompanied us all weekend) stayed away.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Impressive robot

To (mostly electronic)  instrumental sounds that I can’t begin to describe, but which set a very intense and somewhat gloomy mood, the performance started with Minako Seki portraying a robot-like creature. Her incredibly good robot-like movements, often very minimal and ever so subtle, and her very expressive face, drew me in from the start and held my full attention right until the end of the ‘dance’ almost one hour later!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

The mood changes...

During Minako Seki‘s performance, the mood changed from oppressive to gleeful, and back to moody, without skipping a heart beat, in a series of movements that flowed constantly with the varying moods she was portraying…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Drama reaches new heights

… and while she divested herself first of her head dress and subsequently her full outfit (which consisted of 3 layers) , the drama of her performance continued to reach new heights.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Apparent liberation

I have seen a fair amount of dance performances in my life, but never one that was so completely engaging, and during which the performer bared their soul so utterly! Thus, I consider myself incredibly fortunate, to have witnessed such a fantastic performance the first time I saw Butoh in action.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Body sculpted

There are more Butoh performances (and also workshops) in Barcelona this week (on Friday, Saturday and Sunday). So if you’re interested in going to any of them, please check the program of Barcelona en Butoh here and here. Maybe we’ll run into each other!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Expression to the max

Tell me what you think...

