Stencil art

3 Nov
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Baixada de Llibreteria

Isn’t this week going quickly? Maybe it’s just my perception, but I guess it must be a result of the holiday we had on Tuesday…    Anyway, I thought it would be nice to share some stencil graffiti with you today, and I have found some pretty cool examples. Here goes…

The style of the above one reminds me of Banksy, but I’m not sure that it is actually by this great graffiti artist. The snail (below, and also above) is appearing everywhere and encourages us to dream.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de Joan Massana

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de la Riera Baixa

On Carrer Riera Baixa I found 4 different stencils on one door (!) and all are pretty cool. I guess we all recognise Yoda (from the  Star Wars films) above, don’t we? Below, some butterflies – simple but very effective, and cute.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de la Riera Baixa

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de la Riera Baixa

I think the above stencil artist is not a fan of French Bulldogs… what do you think? Did you notice the blue butterfly?

Below a gorgeous stencil of 2 African guys. There are several around town – this one the nicest I’ve seen, so far.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de la Riera Baixa

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Doctor Dou

Around the corner from the Cute Suite, but also in many other places around Barcelona, you can find this famous signature (above). Rather cheeky, but I like the irony of it.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Guardia

Further ‘down’ in el Raval, on the blind of a hip and happening gallery, the stencilled face of Mr Moustache (or so I’ve called him). Good stuff, in my opinion.

But the one I really like, and which is probably the least complicated of all to make, is this ‘doily’ that I found on Carrer Junta de Comerç. I love it!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Junta de Comerç

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de Cervantes

Another black + white stencil. It’s a lot cruder in style than the above examples, but because it has been applied onto a multicoloured background, it stands out very nicely, so brownie points for the selection of the spot!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de Cervantes

And on the blind next to the money-waving Chinese guys, these two gorgeous examples: the leopard and the African child, stars included. My favourites among this selection.

Did you like them? I’d love to know! So don’t be shy, and drop me a line in the comments, or by email (address on the contact page).

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer de Cervantes

2 Responses to “Stencil art”

  1. RiverUnderWater November 3, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    The doily is really cool. I don’t like doilies, but as street art it is not commonly seen.

    • Lisette van de Graaf November 3, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      I’m not a fan of doilies either, but I found it quirky, fresh and fun to see it on the street!

Tell me what you think...

