Applied art

19 Oct
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Montjuic del Bisbe

Another one on graffiti today, folks! But this time of a different variety: the kind that is stuck onto walls and protrudes from these. A kind of applied art, if you will. Come, I will show you what I mean…

Above, 2 examples in one image. On the left, a delightful mosaic by Invader and to the right of it another form of mosaic. I’ve seen a few of these around town before, some quite interesting, but they seem to have disappeared. And beside these 2 mosaic graffiti, a couple of stenciled bugs – cool!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Portaferrissa

Tiles as graffiti? Why not? So far, this is the only one I’ve seen. Are there any around where you live? If so, let me know, or send me images by email – maybe we can arrange a guest post?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Riera Baixa

Poppets in a row. Interesting how they appear to have been punished and have to face the wall. Kinda cute though. I think I’ll give them a title: the naughty boys.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Àngels

Easy to miss, this elegant lady with the damaged face, as she is the same colour as the wall on which she has been applied. I like her, and hope more pretty ladies will show up on the walls to embellish them even more.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Petritxol

Not quite sure what this is – a horny monster of some sort? But I like its colours, and ethnic vibe.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Àngels

A new format that I spotted this Summer: the bottle cap mosaic. I love it! Good advertising for the various brands too, although I’m not sure that is part of the intention. Or maybe that is exactly the intention? In any case, it’s a nice way to recycle bottle caps and the result is quite striking, don’t you agree?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Egipciaques

A close up shot reveals the technique: mesh, tile cement, bottle caps and a bit of patience! Once the piece is finished, get a ladder, find a cool spot and apply on the chosen wall, and voilà, you have new graffiti for the city to enjoy! I hope to see more of this type of art on the walls, although I suspect the lack of more examples is due to the fact that the artists may need to top up their booze fund between jobs!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Detail

Tell me what you think...

