Concrete mix

11 Oct
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Macba

With most of my posts being about details of Barcelona’s glorious past, you may start to believe, that I am not so keen on the more modern stuff, and that is actually not the case. I love modern art, architecture and design! So for today, a post on buildings that are from the second half of the 20th Century, and even one which was finished late last year…

Just around the corner from the Cute Suite, you can find one of my favourite examples, the Macba.  It’s white skin and light green glass stand out among the mostly brick buildings that surround it, and are a striking contrast with the blue sky which we have here, more often than not. Its mixture of curves and straight lines are simply delightful, and the sense of space you get once inside is great.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Via Augusta

Of this building (above) on Via Augusta, I really like the contrast between the white floor lines and columns with the brown (vertical) shutter-like blinds, which appear to be sliding panels. The glass banisters of its balconies keep the appearance un-fussy and the orange walls add a touch of interest – although I must confess that I would have preferred another colour!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça Joan Coromines

This wall, with its tiny square windows and skin of metal slats intrigues me, and I am delighted with its minimalist and clean lines. You can find it behind the Macba off to one side of Plaça Joan Coromines, surrounded by leafy trees.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Via Augusta

Another building on Via Augusta. I don’t love it, but I do think the way the balconies have been placed create a wonderful play of light and shadow, which changes as the day passes. If I lived in front of it, I would be taking pictures of it at all hours, just to compare the different lights and colours.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer del Judici

A whacky one (above), but why not create some interest on a large blank wall? It’s kind of fun, don’t you think?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Jardins de les Votes d'en Cirès

Two buildings I really like. A lot. The one above, is not far from Torre Colon, which I posted about some weeks ago here, and is also from the time when Brutalist Architecture was hot. I love the use of those panels of chunky stones, which have been set at a very subtle diagonal angle. Can you see that? The stony skin seems dark and maybe a little forbidding, but I am pretty sure that inside, this building is quite light, thanks to the many windows and the glass brick that have been used underneath these. Floor to ceiling light – wonderful!

This library (below) was under construction for quite some time (as buildings normally are) and whenever I would walk past (it’s not far from the Cute Suite) I would wonder what it’s purpose would be, and what it would look like once finished. Once they started to put up its skin, which are concrete slabs with Braille-like perforations, I was delighted and even more intrigued. I love the finished result.The skin kind of looks like modern lace, and hints at what you may find inside, and the huge glass panels at the bottom are inviting; the colour red a gorgeous contrast. You may like to know, that on the other side the skin is completely made of glass, so my guess is that the inside of this lovely building is invaded by light at all hours of the day. It make me wish I was studying communication at this faculty, so I would have access to it and be able to experience this building both inside and out!

I hope you enjoyed my brief tour of some of my favourite modern buildings. I’ll be adding more in due course!

 copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Valldonzella

2 Responses to “Concrete mix”

  1. openhouse October 11, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    love concrete buildings… have you been to the house and studio or ricardo boffil? it is built in an old concrete factory on the outskirts of barcelona.. amazing!!!!

Tell me what you think...

