House of Tiles

5 Oct
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Blue and white

There is a house, just outside the old city walls, on Carrer Sots-Tinent Navarro, which always stops me in my tracks. Reason enough, I think to show it to you.

Especially on sunny days, it stands bright in all its pristine white glory, in stark contrast to all its brick and stone and ochre coloured neighbours, and is decorated with such pretty blue and white tiles.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plenty of tiles

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Bricks + tiles

It was built in 1921, or so say its tiles on the brick wall that lies at its base, but I don’t know who is the author of this beauty. (I will try to find out and let you know.) It seems so different from all the other buildings constructed around that time – simpler, with more subtle detailing, even though the tiles in their fresh blue and white combo are what make it so very striking. And those tiles are pretty full of detail and imagery.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Window

The tiles around the windows and balconies have writings on them in Latin, and I will need some help translating those, but I think I’ll check them out in closer detail and take photos of each of them, to show you at a later stage…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Rooster

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Reference to the sun

This one means something like the sun shines on everyone. I think. (Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong, by leaving a comment.)

I don’t know about you, but I really like these tiles, and am delighted by how well this building is looked after. And every time I see it in front of me, when I walk down from Carrer Lledò to the area just outside of the old Roman walls, it stops me in my tracks, and I just have to take the time to admire it. I will go back soon, and take more pictures of as many tile details as I can, so watch this space, there will be a second part to this post.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Apples + eagle

Tell me what you think...

