Art on the streets

20 Sep
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Rambla del Raval

Care to join me for a bit of art today? There is plenty of it to be found on Barcelona’s streets, and the artists’ names are often well known too! Let’s wander around town, and I’ll show you…

Above is the much photographed (usually with people clambered onto its back) cat by Fernando Botero, which you can find a couple of blocks from the Cute Suite, on the Rambla del Raval, in the shade of the palm trees that surround it.

Below, some temporary art on the side walk of Carrer Àngels.  Simple, yet very effective. This is the stuff that delights and inspires me when I walk around town.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Àngels

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça dels Àngels

A large piece in black and white, by Eduardo Chillida, graces one of the walls that surround Plaça dels Àngels, right by the Macba (Barcelona’s Museum of Modern Art).

And a little further along the same wall, but higher up, a piece that was no doubt inspired by M.C. Escher‘s graphic work, although I am ignorant of who actually made this.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça dels Àngels

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Francisco de Pájaro’s trash art

A local artist who is very prolific and works mainly with items found discarded on the streets, is Francisco de Pájaro. The image above is one of his ‘tamer’ examples, for his art is explicit and very confronting.

In contrast, the façade of the COAC is sweet and child-like with its Picasso etchings. You can find the COAC close to the cathedral, and I recommend you check it out, for they have great exhibits inside.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça Nova

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça de Joaquim Xirau

Beside the entrance to one of the buildings that house the Elisava (a renowned design college) a large panel in bronze. I don’t know who the artist is, but I like it. If anybody knows, please send me a message, I would love to know who the author is.

Below, a funky lobster by Javier Mariscal, who also designed the mascot for the 1992 Olympic games, which took place in Barcelona and caused such an important renovation drive at the time, putting Barcelona ‘on the map’ internationally, and jump-starting the influx of tourists that we still enjoy to this day…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passeig de Colom

To wrap up our tour of art on the streets, a sculpture aptly named “The head” (below) by Roy Lichtenstein, which can be found at the intersection of Via Laietana and Passeig de Colom, right by the Old Port. As Lichtenstein is my brother’s favourite artist, I’d like to dedicate this post to him. Eric, I love you.

Tomorrow, a very special post. I’m saying no more – come and check it out!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passeig de Colom

6 Responses to “Art on the streets”

  1. zookyshirts September 20, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I’m a big fan of street art, so I really enjoyed your post. Barcelona certainly has a lot of street art to offer! Some great art — and I like how different the styles are. Thanks for posting!

    • Lisette van de Graaf September 20, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

      Thanks for your comments! I’m also a big fan of street art (as you can tell from my posts about graffiti) and enjoy its diversity too. Glad you liked the post! It was a pleasure to prepare and post it. And do come back to the blog often, more street art to be added very soon!

  2. Eric van de Graaf September 22, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    :-) Thank you, sweetie, for dedicating this post to me. I remember seeing the Lichtenstein sculpture when I was in Barcelona.

    It is very nice to see art displayed openly. There is a huge mural by Lichtenstein in the lobby of a New York city building, which I came across by chance when visiting back in 1993. Don’t remember exactly where it was, but if I am not mistaken it is somewhere along 5th Avenue.

    I must have spent about 15 minutes staring at it, awe-struck, my first live encounter with Roy Lichtenstein’s art. It inspired me to visit the Guggenheim museum, and – what luck – there was a huge pop-art exhibition showing at the time.

    Lovely memories, which are triggered again by coming across art in the streets. You do a great job of writing about it. Keep up the good work!

    Love,
    ERIC

    • Lisette van de Graaf September 22, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

      Glad my humble post brought back so many wonderful memories for you! And thanks for sharing what triggered your love for Roy Lichtenstein’s art – I had no idea what had sparked it! Thanks also for your kind comments – just published post #101 and am planning to keep going… <3

  3. John October 20, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    The sculpture of bronce in ELISAVA is from Riera i Aragó, a catalan sculptor. You can search more of their works in his webpage.
    http://www.rieraiarago.com/obras_obra_publica.asp?id=27

    • Lisette October 22, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

      Thanks very much, John, for letting me know who the mural / sculpture is by! :)

Tell me what you think...

