A touch of green

11 Aug
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Pintor Fortuny

A dear friend of mine recently put in a request for the blog. She wanted to see some green, mostly because she was curious to see if the plants people keep in Barcelona are similar to those of her native country, Italy…

So out I went, camera in hand, craning my neck, looking at balconies and window sills, so see if there was anything worth capturing. I’m glad to say there was plenty, both high and low. Here’s a selection of what I found – enjoy!!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Portaferrissa

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Nou de Sant Francesc

There are lots of touches of green everywhere. Plants in pots of plastic and terra cotta, large and small, with flowers and without…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer del Pi

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Nou de Sant Francesc

Any space, no matter how small, will serve to perch a plant or two. It’s obvious everyone likes a bit of green in their environment! I really like the stand used in the above balcony – if anyone knows where I can get one, please let me know!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Petritxol

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Ferran

A touch of green makes all the difference on a balcony – above you can compare the with and without effect – which would you prefer? I choose green, for sure!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Boqueria

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer del Pi

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Boqueria

If one plant abounds, here in Barcelona, it is the hanging dainty one above. I’ve been meaning to get one for a while now, for the Cute Suite balcony, and am happy to have spotted a little sprout of one among my plants – just a matter of repotting now…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Boqueria

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Boqueria

Some balconies are almost jungle-like in their lushness. Whenever I see those, I get a little bit of balcony envy.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Ferran

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Nou de Sant Francesc

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passatge de la Pau

Some balconies are a little more minimal, and look no less beautiful, in my opinion. Which do you prefer, less or more?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passatge de la Pau

And some cheeky people cheat! Notice how the flowers (below) are fake ones? Hahaha, I guess they do not have green fingers, yet still want a semblance of nature to cheer them up.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Plaça de Sant Josep Oriol

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Sils

All this green is a sight for sore eyes, no doubt. Especially on window sills or balconies that are chock-a-block with plants such as these two examples ( above and below). I wonder if the plants here resemble those used in Italian cities? No doubt my friend will let me know…

Dedicated with love to SGM.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Portaferrissa

8 Responses to “A touch of green”

  1. SiriaGM August 11, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Lisette, I normally comment about your blog entries on facebook,
    but on this occasion I wanted to leave a note here too. Thanks
    for going through so much trouble for me. I thoroughly enjoyed
    peeking at all the balconies and their luxuriant flora. Barcelona
    has never looked more beautiful to me. A truly great post! Siria

    • Lisette van de Graaf August 16, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Dear Siria, it was a delight to walk through lovely Barcelona taking photos of the local flora and then preparing a post especially for you. I am glad you enjoyed it! Lisette

      • Siria Gardi-Montebugnoli September 15, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

        Lisette, today I was looking at this post again.
        I just adore your selection of photos. Thanks.
        In the next few days I’ll try to catch up with the
        blog, you’ve been very prolific! Much love xx

      • Lisette van de Graaf September 16, 2011 at 1:52 am #

        Siria, thanks so much for your comments. I’m glad this post is one you can return to at leisure, and I hope you will do so often! Much love to you too xx

  2. SoundEagle August 8, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Potted Plant Society.

  3. SoundEagle August 8, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    Thank you for these fantastic ideas and depictions about gardening on balconies. You obviously travel a lot. Happy August to you and happy green thumb!

    Cheers!

    • Lisette August 8, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      Thanks for your huge compliment! I live in Barcelona (where I took these photos) and so I am fortunate to have all these beauties ‘around the corner’ from where I live… Happy Summer to you too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A touch of green | Potted Plant Society - September 1, 2012

    […] more… 362 more words This entry was posted on 8 August 2012, in Balcony or Verandah or Terrace, Container Gardening, […]

Tell me what you think...

