Paper art

7 Jul
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Vivien Leigh

Yesterday’s colourful post put me in the mood to share some graffiti with you. Today I’ll be showing you some examples of paper graffiti

– where the art has been applied to paper, which in turn has been pasted onto walls, doors, etc. Enjoy!

The first two are by B-Toy for sure. Can anyone confirm if the 3rd one is also by this artist?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Judy Garland

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

B-Toy?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Bird woman

Two ladies in sepia tints – I like how newspaper excerpts have been used as a collage for the one below.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

News recycled

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Blood shot

I wonder who this sharp dresser with the blood shot eyes is by? Does anyone know? Feel free to let me know by commenting below…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Snap!

Three cute examples in black and white. I find the repetitiveness of the lucky cat quite interesting.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Lucky cat

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Werewolf

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Bird

The intricacy of the bird (above) and heart-in-hands (below) and the similarity in their style make me think these were done by the same artist.  What do you think? Do you know who it is by?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

B/W heart

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Heart in pain

One with a clearly signed name: kenzostreetart (above) which I presume must be Kenzo Street Art. The illustration is very good, I think.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Ripped bouquet

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Pez on paper

This is the first time I’ve seen Pez graffiti on paper. As always, the grinning fish makes me smile.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Weeping lady

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

I love Ocaña

An alternative use for a cake doily – the result is very kitsch and rather naïve, but I think it’s quite cute.

The door below is so full of all kinds of graffiti (lots of it in paper form) that it’s hard to decide what to focus on. I leave you to study it and decide which part you like best… Fins demà!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Graffiti galore

6 Responses to “Paper art”

  1. hotelswelove July 7, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Mmm….I couldn’t say for sure, but I don’t think the bird and the hands-in-heart are by the same person – the latter looks much more sophisticated. It reminds me of Swoon, though it’s not one of her best known images. In any case it is a nice one! x Rachael
    ps: Nice blog theme btw ;-)

    • Lisette van de Graaf July 7, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

      Thanks very much for your feedback, Rachel! I agree, the heart-in-hands is more sophisticated… if I find out more, I’ll let you know! xx Lisette

  2. Marc Gràcia July 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Hola
    The one of the cake doily, is an homage to Ocaña, the famous Ramblas artist. An Icon of the “Movida Barcelonesa” if this ever existed.

    Here one of his performances:

    Part of a biopic by Ventura Pons.

    • Lisette van de Graaf July 11, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Gracias Marc! I had not heard of Ocaña and was not aware he was such an important part of what could be called the Movida Barcelonesa. I’m going to read on him and find out as much as I can. Thanks also for sharing the clips – great! Una abraçada

  3. dm December 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    The Truffaut-Doinel Stencil is by Sr Formica
    Qui est Antoine Doinel?

Tell me what you think...

