Back on track…

30 May
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Museu d'Historia de Catalunya

Hello! Did you miss me? Sorry I didn’t post on all of my usual days last week! The death of an old friend and some events here, in Barcelona, that disturbed me deeply, threw me off track and made me feel so distraught that I found myself incapable of posting anything… But I am back on track, thanks to a visit that I am going to share with you today.

I don’t know about you, but when I need to soothe my soul, either a trip to the sea or a view from a high point is necessary. This time, I combined both! I went to the Museu d’Historia de Catalunya, which is located right by the Old Port.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Doorways

Housed in a beautiful building, the Palau del Mar (as it is called) is the former General Stores, the sole building of Barcelona’s Port Vell that is still standing today…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Port Vell

But I didn’t come to delight in the building as such. I came to seek a view from up above, so I went to the top floor (where you can see a model of what the Sagrada Familia will look like when it is finished) and out to the terrace of the Sagardi Restaurant (this is allowed, no need to eat or drink anything there, although you could – they have a very nice lounge area on the terrace).

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Courtyard

And from there, looking up the coast, you can look down on the museum’s entrance – not bad by any means – and also up to some of the high rises that are located by the sea (the head office for Gas Natural, the Arts Hotel and the Mapfre Tower).

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

A matter of height

Did you spot that colourful laundry too?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Laundry

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Passeig de Joan de Borbò

Turning clockwise, I allowed my eyes to wander… first upon La Barceloneta and then Passeig de Joan de Borbò, which leads to the beach.

The neat rows of pleasure boats in the harbour with their tall masts (most of them) are always a pleasure to behold, and listen to – the ropes cling and clang against the masts in the constant sea breeze, and so the port has its own ‘music’ – lovely!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Neat rows

After my mind and soul had been calmed and soothed respectively, I allowed my glance to continue in a clockwise direction, towards Montjuïc (the name means: Jewish Mount – a great place to visit by the way) and that other high rise Torre de Drassanes. For 5 years (in my previous apartment) this tower played a very prominent part in the view from my windows and I have grown very fond of it. Seeing it, always brings a feeling of home-coming, and so it did on this visit too.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Montjuïc

Turning my glance yet further to almost 360º, the city comes into focus, with in the foreground a colourful sculpture by Roy Liechtenstein and behind it, the beautiful building that is our main post office. And further behind that, the hodgepodge of Barcelona’s rooftops.

Whenever I look back from the sea and see Barcelona, I realise how fortunate I am to live in such a wonderful and beautiful city, and make peace again with life.  Obviously it is unnecessary to feel at odds with life to make the trip to the roof terrace of the Palau del Mar – it’s a great thing to do anytime! Have a great week!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Downtown

Tell me what you think...

