C215

22 Mar
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Cardenal Casañas

For the past year or so, I have been spotting more and more work by French graffiti artist Christian Guémy, otherwise known as  C215, on Barcelona’s streets, and I have to say that I love it!  Colourful, intricate and stylish portraits, stenciled onto all kinds of flat surfaces around town. Too beautiful to keep from you, so here is a selection for you to enjoy…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Doctor Dou

His use of colour is at times subtle and at others quite an explosion when viewed in the context of their surroundings, but one thing is a constant: the expressiveness of his portraits, which are always striking, and often portray the more marginalised from our society, as well as his family and friends.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Ferlandina

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Riera Baixa

I’d love to know who all of his subjects are, and learn about their stories, so I’ll keep an eye out in case I run into C215 while he’s at work and ask him.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Riera Baixa

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Montalegre

Meanwhile, I’ll just enjoy the ones I am able to spot, and delight in their artistry and colour. Gorgeous, aren’t they?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer d'en Roig

Check our C215 on his Myspace page here, and also his Flickr photo stream here.

(Thanks to Jean-Briac for helping me find some of the images I have shown you all today! You’ll meet him in the BCN Handmade section soon…)

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Carrer Riera Alta

6 Responses to “C215”

  1. grosenberg March 22, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Wow amazing stuff

  2. Jessica March 23, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    Amazing work, I’m going to have to keep an eye out for those.

    • Lisette March 23, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Wonderful, aren’t they?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alice in graffiti land « cute suite - March 27, 2012

    [...] you liked last Thursday’s post about C215, I think you’ll like this one too. For about one year now, I’ve been seeing [...]

  2. Souvenirs « cute suite - September 10, 2012

    [...] On the Herengracht I was suddenly reminded of one of my favourite street artists, C215… [...]

Tell me what you think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

