Inside the Cute Suite

26 Jul
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Stair well

Today I am going take you closer to home. In fact, I’m going to take you into my home, to show you details of what surrounds the Cute Suite. Would you like to come up for a visit?

The staircase has a comfortable step, so going up and down the 3 flights is easy.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Chanel?

The heavy front door has a Chanel-like finish on the inside. Almost as if the previous owners knew of my fashion fancies!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Argyle stars

For years hidden under a layer of cement and linoleum, and thankfully in quite a good state despite its age (101 years!) it took quite a bit of scraping and chiseling to uncover my starry mosaic floor.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Cute Suite through here…

Currently occupied with lovely guests – the Cute Suite has become a popular accommodation – lucky me, I get to meet people from all over the world, in the comfort of my own home!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

On tap

Vintage elements abound in my home – here details from the kitchen and bathroom…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Mismatched shutters

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

There’s time…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Souvenir

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Rambla or China?

Even the WC has its share of art – the water colour in its whacky frame I discovered on top of one of the wardrobes shortly after moving in. I love it, as it reminds me of my time in Hong Kong, although I suppose it represents La Rambla.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Pebbles + perfume

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Acorn bolt

You don’t find pretty bolts like this anymore, and cut glass mirrors are also a thing of the past. The mirror is also a find from within my home. I think it is so very pretty, and don’t mind that it is a little weathered at the bottom.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Mirror image

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Tinkling shells

Found and inherited – I discovered the lamp in a container one morning when I was on my way to work, and the painting by Gieling (an old family friend) I inherited from my mother.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Fire ball

I debated whether to include the photo of my blue tea lights, because I don’t like to see myself reflected in my shots. But the blue is so beautiful and this post is so very personal, that I decided to include it after all – was it the right decision?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

3 x me

One of the beautiful period features of my flat, the cast iron bannister on my balcony – pretty, isn’t it? Do you have a balcony, or period features in your home?

That’s it, for today, I’ll be back tomorrow with a post about a shop that sells organic food. Hope you’ll join me!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Balcony bliss

Tell me what you think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

