Reconstructed

20 Jun
copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Las Arenas

Hello! How was your weekend? I hope it was a good one, like mine was…

Today I’m taking you to a shopping center. I know what you’re thinking, I’m not a great fan either, but in this case, I’m not taking you to shop (although feel free if you must) but to gaze in awe at the way this former grandiose bull ring has been reconstructed.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Façade

I’m no architect, only a keen observer, so I won’t even try to explain how it has all been done ( If you want that kind of info, check this link for a full explanation), but instead, I thought I’d just leave you to ‘stare’ as I did when I visited this place recently, and occasionally throw in the odd remark…

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Air vents

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Struts

Even seen such big screws (above)?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Suspended

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Cut

The old wall (above), was ‘cut’ at its base, and sandwiched between the new buttresses – seriously impressive! And below, the structure that keeps the outer skin attached to the new inner one.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

In between

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Looking up

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Behind the escalator

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Diagonal

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Escalator front

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Supports

I like how the supporting structure has been given a bright colour to emphasise its function.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Joints

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Dome of wood

Sorry for the poor quality of the above photo – it was taken through a dirty window.

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Balcony

From his balcony I took the photos I showed you in the 360º post, remember?

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Layers

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Arms

Are you as impressed as I was? In any event, I hope you enjoyed our little visit. Have a great week!

copyright: Lisette van de Graaf

Pole
One Response to “Reconstructed”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mind the mosaic! « cute suite - October 30, 2012

    [...] butterfly (below) graces a residential building next door to Las Arenas, the former bull ring I wrote about some time ago. It’s colourful and rather naïf in style [...]

Tell me what you think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

